Awards season is nearly upon us. No, not the one with the fancy suits and dresses and red carpets—Overwatch League awards season! Two awards in 2018 was pretty good, but we’re aiming higher in 2019. This year, we’re expanding to five awards, which will be presented throughout the season playoffs and into the Grand Finals.

Here’s what you need to know!


Dennis “Internethulk” Hawelka’s contributions to the Overwatch community live on in this award, presented each year in his honor to the player deemed to be the most shining example of positive influence on their teammates, their organization, or the community at large. Last year, former teammate and friend of Dennis, Pongphop “Mickie” Rattanasangchod, took the honors, and we are excited to continue the tradition this year and beyond.

Previous winner: Pongphop “Mickie” Rattanasangchod, Dallas Fuel (2018).

Voting process: Teams nominate their player(s), and the League Office selects the winner.
Winner presentation: Friday, August 30—during the play-in tournament.


This is the first of the new awards we are presenting this year. The 2019 Overwatch League Role Stars class will be a collection of the top four players per in-game role—damage, tank, and support—for a total of 12 players. This will be a top-tier, cross-team roster, representing the best of the best in the league—a snapshot of the elite players that fans can look back on and remember fondly. Winners will be given special recognition during the 2020 season.

Voting process: General managers, head coaches, broadcast talent, and media vote on players eligible to be measured via the Player Impact Rating system (60 percent of minimum possible maps played in a season).
Winners’ presentation: Saturday, August 31—second day of the play-in tournament.


Another new addition to the Overwatch League award slate, Rookie of the Year is a perfect accolade to introduce for our second season. Players are eligible if they were not contracted in the previous Overwatch League season, which ensures that this season’s Rookie of the Year race will be a spicy one—with so much incredible talent in the 2019 expansion teams, it’s going to be a tough decision!

Voting process: General managers, head coaches, broadcast talent, and media vote.
Winner presentation: Thursday, September 5—start of double-elimination playoffs.


ICYMI, the fan-voting process for the 2019 Overwatch League MVP presented by T-Mobile award has already started—here’s a refresher on how it works. Jay “Sinatraa”” Won, Matthew “Super” DeLisi, Ju-Seok “Twilight” Lee, Hyun-Woo “Jjanu” Choi, and Qiulin “Guxue” Xu are all fighting for your votes right now via Twitter, WeChat, and the Overwatch League Twitch channel. You have until August 25 (the end of Stage 4) to cast your vote, which accounts for 25 percent of the overall tally. This year’s winner will have big shoes to fill, following in the footsteps of Seong-Hyun “Jjonak” Bang of the NYXL.

Previous winner: Seong-Hyun “Jjonak” Bang, NYXL (2018).

Voting process:  Fan votes account for 25 percent of the overall tally, combined with votes from general managers, head coaches, and media.
Winner presentation: Thursday, September 5—start of double-elimination playoffs.


Finally, we will be presenting an award for the 2019 Grand Finals MVP presented by T-Mobile—the standout player in our biggest match of the year. We will be collecting fan votes in real time via Twitch and Twitter (weighted to 25 percent) and combining them with the votes of broadcast talent, head coaches, and GMs. This will be a fiery day both onstage and off, with voting opening during the Grand Finals match on September 29. The winner will be presented with the trophy following the conclusion of the match.

Previous winner: Jun-Young “Profit” Park, London Spitfire (2018).

Voting process: Twitter and Twitch for fan votes, combined with votes from general managers, head coaches, broadcast talent, and media.
Winner presentation: Sunday, September 29—at the Grand Finals in Philadelphia.

We’ll keep you up to date any news or announcements about the Overwatch League awards season over on Twitter, so make sure to give us a follow!